Pianizza di Sopra (504 m a.s.l.) is located on the border of Caldaro and Appiano, idyllically surrounded by vineyards
Image gallery: Pianizza di Sopra
On the Monte Ganda, there is the village of Pianizza di Sopra, once upon a time named Planities superior. Large monasteries such as Tegernsee, the largest of Bavarian history, and Wilten, owned large vineyards here in Pianizza di Sopra already in the 8th century.
Today the church is located in the heart of an attractive village centre. It is dedicated to S. John, dates back to the late Gothic period and is surrounded by ancient farmsteads such as the Wohlgemuth residence that boasts typical characteristics of the Oltradige construction style.
Pianizza di Sopra has its own elementary school and kindergarten. At the northern border of the village, close to the neighbouring municipality of Appiano, there is a little chestnut forest that is very popular for short walks. On the opposite side of the road, there are remnants of the S. Georg Tower. It originated in the late Gothic period and testifies that a church was exactly located in this place. The S. Georg Church was mentioned for the first time in 1237 and enlarged and rebuilt in the 17th century. The Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph II, however, had it closed down in 1786. This is when the building started to decay. Since the 18th century, the area of Pianizza di Sopra has belonged to the municipality of Caldaro.