High above Bolzano this castle complex surveys Bolzano and surroundings. The ambience of this building is convincing.
This impressive castle complex has been built in the 12th century by the lords of Haselberg. In those days a circular wall surrounded the castle which could easily be assaulted.
In the south and east of the complex the wall was placed exactly where it can still be seen today. Above the wall there was the residential complex of the wall. Also the donjon must have been constructed in these days, according to discoveries that have been made in the course of time. Also a rain water cistern was part of the building and has continually been modified in the course of reconstructions between the 13th and 15th century. Between 1474 and 1541 the castle has been renewed by the Lords of Fié.
The results of these reconstructions can still be seen today. They added a double-arcade hall in the eastern wing, another great hall in the north as well as a new defensive wall. Today the castle is composed of three wings and after renovations it has been decorated with various frescos. In 1880 parts of the north wing collapsed and for this reason only fragments of the paintings are left.
In 2001/02 Castel Flavon has been softly redeveloped in the west, north and east by the architect Dietmar Dejori. Old structures such as double arcades have been dispensed by superstructions, cellars were layed open and integrated into a subterraneous hall. Also the collapsed northern wing has been reconstructed, even if only to a lesser extend. Castel Flavon has even been seat of government of Leonhard of Fié, former Count of Tyrol.
Today the rooms of this castle are available for seminars and celebrations. A restaurant completes the unique location above the roofs of Bolzano.