Castel d’Appiano

It is located above Missiano at Appiano and has been well preserved. For hikers and gourmets, there is also a restaurant.

In any circumstances, it is a really romantic place. Castel d’Appiano is located high above the village and represents a perfect destination for hikers who are interested in culture and history. It is considered to be one of the main fortified castles all over South Tyrol. Castel d’Appiano il located on a hill and is accessible from one side, where you can conquer the castle in a hike.
As a fortress against struggles, this castle has been constructed in 1125 by Earl Ulrich II of Appiano. However, it is not beyond doubt if the castle complex has really been constructed in these days. Some researchers claim that it has emerged in a subsequent date.

In the period of time before, the owners of the castle have been living in Castelvecchio at San Paolo. When their position became insecure they moved to the rough rock spur.
In 1158 the Lords of Appiano mugged a papal embassy and were punished by Henry the Lion with the demolition of the castle. Soon after Castel d’Appiano has been reconstructed. In 1315 the Lords of Appiano obtained the castle and handed it on as feud to different other families. From 1911 Castel d’Appiano was in possession of the Lords of Enzenberg and in 2016 the municipality of Appiano bought the castle.

The defending parts of the castle date back to the 16th century. Outside the circular wall a turret protected the castle against assaults. From here, Castel d’Appiano could be defended with firearms.
The donjon is a very special one of his kind and with its pentagonal form a very rare exemplar.
Another gem for those who love culture and arts is the very well preserved castle chapel which boasts a famous fresco cycle. It is one of the best preserved frescos all over Tyrol. Both inside and outside biblical tales are illustrated.
The so called Kreideturm is located a 10-minutes’ walk away from the main complex and is considered to be a progenitor of Castel d’Appiano. It is surrounded by a little circular wall.

The castle can be reached on foot in 45 minutes.

Opening hours and guided tours in the castle chapel:
> Open from April 6th to the middle of November 2019, closed on Wednesdays except in October
> Guided tours daily, except Wednesdays, from 11 am until 4 pm
> Duration: approx. 45 min for the castle tour and 30 min. for the chapel tour

Suggested accommodations

  1. Hotel Residence Tschindlhof
    Hotel

    Hotel Residence Tschindlhof

  2. Hotel St. Justina Hof
    Hotel

    Hotel St. Justina Hof

  3. Hotel Post Gries
    Hotel

    Hotel Post Gries

  4. Hotel Residence Traubenheim
    Hotel

    Hotel Residence Traubenheim

  5. Hotel Elefant
    Hotel

    Hotel Elefant

    Ora
Tips and more infos